shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0.00
View Cart Check Out

About Us

The East Cork Junior A Hurling Championship Winning Team of 1972

Dungourney GAA Club is one of the oldest GAA Clubs in Cork and its exploits in the early years of last century when Captain Jamesy Kelleher and his companions were one of the top teams in the Country are storied even now. Dungourney won three Cork County Senior hurling championships in this time in 1902, 1907 and 1909 and represented Cork in the All-Ireland Championship in 1902 which they won beating London’s representatives Brian Boru in the final. Jamesey Kelleher was honoured in later years when he was named right corner back on the team of the century a major and fitting accolade.

Junior A Munster Champions 2015

While the club has competed in both hurling and football down through the years it was not until 1972 that we won our first East Cork Junior Hurling title following a B grade win in 1967, indeed we competed in six more finals before our next win in 2006. We won again in 2011 but 2015 was to be a landmark year when not only did we bring the Jamesy Kelleher cup back to Dungourney, but we also won our first Cork County and Munster Junior hurling championships only to be beaten in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Current Dungourney Team

We currently compete in the intermediate grade in the Co-Op Superstores Cork County Hurling Championship. We have won the East Cork U21 B Hurling championship seven times since 1973 and we went o to win the Cork County U21B Hurling Championship in 2012. We take part in football and have won the B grade title twice in 1995 and 2004 and currently compete in the East Cork Junior B football championship. In 2003 we joined with our fellow parishioners, Castlemartyr, at underage and compete as Kiltha Óg who have celebrated multiple successes over the years. In 2021 our minor hurlers won the Premier two Minor Hurling Championship, with All Ireland Hurling Championship winner and Electric Ireland Minor Hurler of the Year 2022, Jack Leahy, being just one of a very impressive team.

Jamesy Kelleher Park

The present club grounds at Ballydonaghmore, used by our mens, camogie and academy teams, was purchased in 1976 and has been developed continuously over the years. It now has an indoor ball alley, state of the art lighting, nets and fencing, a covered stand, along with gym and meeting room facilities. In the coming year our new community walkway will be completed and work will carried out to upgrade and modernise our changing areas. We have also recently cooperated with St. Peters National School in Dungourney to build a new AstroTurf pitch which is now seeing constant use by multiple teams and codes and has been a real boon for the community.

Sciath Na Scoil Winning team 2017

All this work and progress doesn’t happen by accident and we are blessed to have fantastic community support backing a hard-working committee who toil tirelessly to ensure we provide modern facilities for all our players and supporters. Our club president is Pat Rigney, and our club officers are Chairperson Declan O’Callaghan, Secretary Christine Healy, and Treasurer Lily Hegarty. Our two local club sponsors, Rigney Brothers garage and East Cork Crane hire have been with us for several years and we are eternally grateful to them for all their help and support as we embark on another exciting season, and new endeavours such as our Healthy Clubs initiative. Dungourney Abú!